Tournament Report - 1st Aug 05
Lymington 6 a side tournament

Christian Oozes Six Appeal!

Lymington's 2005 Six-a-Side tournament has been won by Christian Pain's 'Under the Thumb' team. They won all three of their group matches on Sunday before defeating Adie Hunt's side in a low scoring final. Pre-tournament favourites - Pete Smith's 'XXXXers' - won just one group match but avoided the wooden spoons by thrashing Mark Burrett's Stud Muffins in the Third/Fourth place play-off.

The Lymington Sixes have always been quick to introduce new gimmicks and innovations, and Sunday's tournament was no exception. The heavy overnight rain had left the proposed wicket in an extremely damp and unplayable state so it was decided to play on a wicket on the edge of the square using Incrediballs rather than proper cricket balls. This not only made hitting boundaries a lot harder, but also saved the tennis players from being bombarded with cricket balls all afternoon! A daring innovation was the introduction of 15 yard fielding circles, with all the fielders having to be inside the circle during the first over, and one permitted to drop out at the end of every over thereafter. This led to some interesting captaincy decisions on who should be trusted to bowl the first over! Once again, batsmen could try to double their runs by hitting the ball through the 'MEG ZONES' strategically placed at cow corner.

The traditional bowl-out was replaced by a big-hitting competition. Lloyd Scott won the Under 16 category, while Pete Smith unsurprisingly claimed the senior title with a massive shot measured at approximately 97 yards by judges Barry Gough and Dom Di Maria. Incredibly, the big Aussie exhibitionist then produced an amazing throw from in front of the clubhouse that nearly made it into the tennis courts! (The last player to achieve such a feat was apparently Clive Plant more than 20 years ago).

At the end of the day, successful Under 13 coach Tony Thorp arrived back from his side's cup triumph at Langley Manor just in time to present the winners and losers with their prizes. Simon King was awarded the Ginsters Pasty Moment for his stupendous catch in the grand final, while Tom Thorp claimed the 'Emile Heskey Award' for comically falling over whilst attempting to take a catch. The winning team consisted of Christian Pain, Ed Molloy, Craig Tapper, Simon King, Tim Noble and Mansau.

Pete receives a bottle of 'Goliath' beer for his 97 yard hit

Onslow Bucket bowls to Trev

Geoff Renshaw about to step on his stumps yet again!

The losers collect their wooden spoons

Great bat-speed from Mansau!

A rare Gannaway straight ball!

Coach Phillips demonstrates how NOT to do it!

An even rarer Gannaway forward defensive


Craig David makes a guest appearance behind the stumps

Go fetch!

The winners - The Under the Thumbs

Ian Young launches another six into the tennis courts



Copyright © 2002-2011 Lymington Cricket Club, last update: 03-May-2011