Match Report - 1 Jun 06
New Forest Edmund de Rothschild KO CUP

Lymington 119 for 5  v  Mudeford 122 for 4  (18 over match )

Cup holders Lymington lose in 1st round

Lymington batted first with Keith Dabengwa (0) and Simon King (22) opening with the former playing a rather adventurous shot second ball and being caught. Dave Griffiths (34) came in and took the score to 28 in the 5th over when King was out caught. Christian Pain (11) and Adie Hunt (0) departed before Bryn Darbyshire (38) took the score to 119 off the 18 overs. A total that looked a little on the low side.

In reply Mudeford lost 2 early wickets to Lloyd Scott (4 overs 3 for 31) who was then taken off after 2 overs and Keith Dabengwa (4 overs 0 for 29), Christian Pain (4 overs 0 for 21) and Trevor Phillips (2 overs 0 for 12) were unable to make any further breakthrough although many shots fell between fielders. This left Mudeford only a little behind the rate with 8 wickets in hand and in a good postion for a late charge which duly came in the last 4 overs. Although Mark Burrett (2.2 overs 1 for 20) picked up a wicket and the returning Lloyd Scott picked up another he however conceded 15 in his last over to leave Mudeford requiring just 2 to win off the last which they achieved with a boundary. P Wyatt (55) and J Bain (27) and a final flourish by I Hassell (16 not out) were the main run scorers for Mudeford.

Lloyd Scott got 3 of the 4 Mudeford wickets taken, all bowled





Copyright © 2002-2011 Lymington Cricket Club, last update: 03-May-2011