Pope addresses Lymington's annual presentation evening!

Lymington's annual presentation evening was held on April 7th at Towles Inn, Walhampton. The day had started badly for Lymington with the publication of some scandalous and unjustified criticism of the club by three local councillors in a report on the Woodside saga in the Lymington Times. However, members were able to forget about all this as they sat back and enjoyed a hilarious after-dinner speech from the highly rated comedian Tim Pope. The former Butlins Redcoat?s endless supply of witty one-liners was supplemented by a few digs at one or two unfortunate members of the audience, and there was a memorable exchange between the speaker and super-heavyweight heckler Bob Iles, with honours ending just about even.

Nick Lee provided an entertaining interlude which included a Butlins-style knobbly knees competition judged, appropriately enough, by the guest speaker, and won hands down (or should that be knees down) by veteran Robin Goff ahead of Tony Wharton and Adie Hunt. In his President's speech, Brian Hobby talked about the aforementioned Lymington Times article and spoke passionately about the club's fears for the Sports Ground.

Former Lymington opener Tony Middleton was on hand to present the trophies and answer a few questions about his First Class career. The trophy winners for the 2005 season were Bryan Darbyshire (1st XI), Dave Griffiths (2nd XI), Peter Tapper (3rd XI), Mark Gannaway (4th XI), Pete Smith (All Rounder), Will Thorp (Best Colt in Senior Cricket) and Jim Lowe (Clubman). Club stalwart David Coles was presented with the Millennium Cup for his many years of organising the club's lucrative golf days which have helped to keep Lymington CC afloat over the past eight years.

One final thought should go to Janet and her team at Towles who provided an excellent meal despite losing one of their chefs on the morning of the event.

President Brian Hobby
First XI Player of the Year - Bryn Darbyshire (or should that be 'Bryan'!)


A reflective Craig Tapper
Millennium Cup winner - Dave Coles


Clubman of the Year - Jim Lowe
The Knobbly Knees Contest finalists - Mssrs Goff, Hunt and Wharton


Marty Hunt and Tasty Tania
Fourth XI Player of the Year - Meg Gannaway


The irrepressible Nick Lee
Third XI Player of the Year - Peter Tapper


The excellent guest speaker Tim Pope
Best Colt in Senior Cricket: Will Thorp


Ex-Trojans teammates Wharton and Middleton remember the good old days

Photos courtesy of Nick Gossip.


Copyright © 2002-2011 Lymington Cricket Club, last update: 03-May-2011