Match Report - First XI - 26 July 08
Southern Electric Premier Cricket League Division 2

Lymington 239 for 8 - Havant II 140ao

Lymington entertained Havant looking to bounce back from their poor showing the previous week against Hook. Lymington batted first keen to make use of another great looking sports ground pitch. Once again Lymington struggled against the new ball and soon found themselves in trouble at 33 for 3 after 10 overs, Dai-Morgan Rushbrook and Craig O'Shannessy set about rebuilding the innings and did just that before O'Shannessy was bowled for 17. Cameron Grierson (24) came to the crease at 6 and batted well in partnership with Rushbrook to take the score to 135 for 4 with 15 overs to go, during this time Rushbrook moved effortlessly passed 50 and had laid a good platform for a decent score. The dismissal of Grierson led to another wobble with Rushbrook also departing for 77, Will Thorp came to crease eager to make an impression in his first XI debut and proceeded to hit his first 2 balls for 4 and 6 respectively before trying one shot too many to fall for 12 from just 7 deliveries. With Thorp's deismissal Lymington were struggling at 190 for 8, well below par for a good batting wicket. Recently married Jamie Harvey in partnership with Mark Newton took the attack to Havant and added 59 in the last 5 overs to propel lymington to 239 for 8 and leave Harvey 34no and Newton 25no.

Having taken the momentum from the last 5 overs into tea Lymington looked to take early wickets to continue where they left off, the Havant batsmen had other ideas and moved comfortably to 40 for no wicket from 10 overs before Christian Pain made the breakthrough. Pain's spell changed the whole game as he took 3-11 from 6 overs to leave Havant 53 for 3. With the bowling attack bowling with much more discipline Havant could only score at 3 an over and fell well behind the run rate. The returning O'Shannessy (4-35) then claimed 4-11 in his 5 over spell to leave Havant all out for 140 and leave Lymington victorious by 99 runs.



Copyright © 2002-2011 Lymington Cricket Club, last update: 03-May-2011