Match Report - First XI - 22 Aug 09
Southern Electric Premier Cricket League Division 1

Lymington 223 (47.4 overs)   Totton & Eling 224 - 9 (49.1 overs)


With the morning rain having cleared away and prospects looking considerably brighter for the afternoon's play, Christian Pain won the toss for Lymington and elected to bat. Opening pair, Rob Lammiman (18) and Glyn Treagus put on 45 in seven overs before the former was caught behind off former Lymington player Mike West. Although feeling very much under the weather Glyn Treagus was batting well (45). Morgan Rushbrook (7) didn't get going, but Cameron Grierson (16) added some support. Neither James Lucy nor Ollie Kelly bothered the scorers but Simon Cook (24) and Tommy Barton (21) assisted skipper Christian Pain in keeping the score ticking over. Christian played a very responsible innings but was run out backing up on achieving his half century. The last two wickets added another 30 runs until Eddie Freeman had a rush of blood to the head and was stumped with 2.2 overs still to go. The Totton bowlers shared the wickets, Banks (2-21), Manning (2-23), West (2-49), Goldstraw (2-51) and Franklin (1-22) in Lymington's total of 223.

Totton's openers, Banks (24) and Rawlins (20) put on 40 for the first wicket, but they were three down for 47 when Treagus removed both openers and Lucy bowled Kenway for a duck. Manning (54) and Chowdhury (44) then had a good stand putting on 86 for the fourth wicket, Franklin (13) and West (20) steadied the Totton ship but Rushbrook and Pain achieved vital break throughs reducing the home team to 214-9, still 9 runs to victory but Dibden (15*) and Goldstraw (3*) saw them sneak home in the final over by courtesy of a bye! Lymington bowlers to take wickets were Pain (3-35), Rushbrook (2-25), Treagus (2-61), Lucy (1-15) and Barton (1-28).

There was little to choose between the two teams but Totton's narrow victory was due to Lymington's lower order players lack of tactical awareness rather than the home team's superiority.



Copyright © 2002-2011 Lymington Cricket Club, last update: 03-May-2011