Match Report - First XI - 10 July 09
Presidents Trophy Final

Bashley (Rydal) 93 - 8 (18 overs) Lymington 95 - 3 (14.1 overs)

Sean Lilley won the toss for Bashley (Rydal) and elected to bat in damp overcast conditions. Against the Lymington attack of Simon Cook (2-13) and Morgan Rushbrook (2-16), Thugood, Bailiff, Morris and Maher were all back in the pavilion with the score at 22. Vaughan (23) and Lilley (19) took the score up to 64 but Friedman (12*) was the only other Bashley batsman to reach double figures and at the completion of their 18 overs they has made 93-8. Eddie Freeman had the best analysis with 3-21 in his four overs. He was supported by Christian Pain (1-23). There was one interruption for rain early in the innings and there was a similar occurrence when Lymington batted.

Morgan Rushbrook (8) opened with Dave Griffiths (17) but could not emulate his two previous scores in this competition which were 100 and 86 both not out. Bryn Darbyshire (24) joined Dave Griffiths and scored five 4s in his quick fire innings. Cameron Grierson was the next man in and immediately set about the Bashley bowling. When the winning runs were hit he was 40 not out including two 6s and five 4s which won him the man of the match award. Lymington's score after 14.1 overs was 95-3 to win the President's Challenge Trophy by seven wickets.

Best of the Bashley bowlers were Allen (2-16) and Dean (1-8)


LCC Winners!
Cameron - Man of the match




Copyright © 2002-2011 Lymington Cricket Club, last update: 03-May-2011